Skip to main content

Psychology: Find Articles

Databases to Get You Started

Most academic research requires you to use published articles. While these types of articles can be found using Google, it is often easier to find them using a library database. The following databases contain articles on a wide variety of subjects and are great places to start.

Video: What are Databases and Why do you Need Them?

Databases with Psychology Coverage

Psychology Collection [GALE]
Search a subset of Gale with a focus on basic understandings of the study of the mind, emotions, and how the human mind develops and diminishes over time. Researchers will have access to nearly 500 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals.

Biography Reference Center [EBSCO]
Containing many of the top-ranked biographical reference collections and magazines, this database offers a comprehensive collection of full-text biographies and unique narrative biographies.

Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic [EBSCO]
This collection provides access to full-text, indexed and abstracted biomedical research journals covering a broad range of disciplines, including medicine, dentistry, veterinary medicine and pre-clinical sciences. Coverage also extends to include structured research evaluating current and past healthcare systems.

Cinahl w/ Full Text [EBSCO]
Full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 520 journals.

Tutorial: Basic Searching

Tutorial: Advanced Searching

Consumer Health Complete [EBSCO]
Consumer Health Complete is designed to support the information needs of patients and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. This resource provides content covering all key areas of health and wellness, from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.

Diversity Studies Collection [GALE]
Useful for social science,
history and liberal arts coursework, this collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community. This set includes 250 journals.

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)
GVRL has over 200 encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Look here for biology, chemistry, nursing and medicine, sociology, history, education, law, and more.

Health & Wellness Resource Center with Alternative Health Module [GALE]
Provides access to medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos from partner Healthology, Inc., and articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Gale reference titles.

PubMedCentral
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM)

Social Work Reference Center [EBSCO]
Social Work Reference Center is a turnkey information resource for social workers and mental health professionals. It covers a wide array of topics such as adolescent health, aging, end-of-life care, clinical social work, and diversity.

 

Clatsop Community College1651 Lexington Ave. Astoria, OR 97103503-325-0910Admissions: 503-338-2411Toll Free: 1-855-252-8767Accredited by the Northwest Commission on Colleges & UniversitiesClatsop Community College is an affirmative action, equal opportunity institution.