Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Clatsop Community College1651 Lexington Ave. Astoria, OR 97103503-325-0910Admissions: 503-338-2411Toll Free: 1-855-252-8767Accredited by the Northwest Commission on Colleges & UniversitiesClatsop Community College is an affirmative action, equal opportunity institution.
Databases to Get You Started
Most academic research requires you to use published articles. While these types of articles can be found using Google, it is often easier to find them using a library database. The following databases contain articles on a wide variety of subjects and are great places to start.
Academic OneFile is a starting point for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Covering the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, it contains millions of articles available in full- text. Includes full-text New York Times content from 1995 to present.
Academic Search Premier
(EBSCO) - a multi-disciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Opposing ViewPoints in Context
A one-stop source for information on current social issues. Includes viewpoint articles on both sides of an issue, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full text magazine and newspaper articles.
Video: What are Databases and Why do you Need Them?
Databases: Business, Economics, and Accounting
A comprehensive and easy to navigate collection of over 4,000 leading business and trade publications. Incorporates coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice.
Business Economics and Theory
This collection provides periodicals focusing on topics in economics. It has more than 450 full-text journals and regular feeds of videos from Forbes.com that contain business news coverage and interviews with CEO's.
Business Insights: Global
Brings together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Find detailed company and industry news and information.
Business Source Premier
Providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. Includes coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost.
Small Business Collection
For business students and entrepreneurs, this compilation provides insights, tips, strategies and success stories. Users will find 250 subject-appropriate full text periodicals.
Small Business Resource Center
Content covers starting and operating a business, including accounting, finance, human resources, management, marketing, tax and more. Includes nearly 200 business journals and reference books.