Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Clatsop Community College1651 Lexington Ave. Astoria, OR 97103503-325-0910Admissions: 503-338-2411Toll Free: 1-855-252-8767Accredited by the Northwest Commission on Colleges & UniversitiesClatsop Community College is an affirmative action, equal opportunity institution.
Databases: Art and Music
Fine Arts and Music Collection
Provides more than 150 full-text magazines and journals that are covered in indices such as the Wilson Art Index and RILM, this collection will provide support for research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
This powerful collection provides access to full-text academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in a broad variety of academic disciplines with special emphasis on American Studies, Architecture & Architectural History, Art & Art History, Business, Environmental Studies, Feminist & Women's Studies, Health Policy, and History.
This is a great place to find articles. Look for full-text versions to the right of the article listing. There's also a handy citation feature. Try it, it's fun!
A great Creative Commons site for Art History resources. Check it out.
Databases to Get You Started
Most academic research requires you to use published articles. While these types of articles can be found using Google, it is often easier to find them using a library database. The following databases contain articles on a wide variety of subjects and are great places to start.
Academic OneFile is a starting point for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Covering the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, it contains millions of articles available in full- text. Includes full-text New York Times content from 1995 to present.
Academic Search Premier
(EBSCO) - a multi-disciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Opposing ViewPoints in Context
A one-stop source for information on current social issues. Includes viewpoint articles on both sides of an issue, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full text magazine and newspaper articles.
The library subscribes to several newspapers with Art and Music coverage. Especially noteworthy publications include:
- The New York Times (via Academic OneFile) — great national coverage
- The Oregonian — regional news available in our library daily
- The Daily Astorian — local news available daily in our library
- Chinook Observer — local news available in our library
- The Columbia Press — local news available in our library
- Seaside Signal — local news available in our library
Magazines and Journals
The library houses a stellar collection of traditional magazines and journals covering many subjects. The following titles cover Art or Music:
- Art Forum
- Art in America
- Ceramics: Art+Perception
- Ceramics Monthly
- Clay Times
- Digital Photo
- Flash Art
- Guitar Player
- Journal of the Print World
- Modern Painters
- New American Painters
- Rolling Stone
Many of these publications (and countless others) are also available electronically via our databases. Need help finding journals or magazines? Just ask. We're here to help!
Video: What are Databases and Why do you Need Them?