Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Clatsop Community College1651 Lexington Ave. Astoria, OR 97103503-325-0910Admissions: 503-338-2411Toll Free: 1-855-252-8767Accredited by the Northwest Commission on Colleges & UniversitiesClatsop Community College is an affirmative action, equal opportunity institution.
Databases to Get You Started
Most academic research requires you to use published articles. While these types of articles can be found using Google, it is often easier to find them using a library database. The following databases contain articles on a wide variety of subjects and are great places to start.
Academic OneFile is a starting point for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Covering the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, it contains millions of articles available in full- text. Includes full-text New York Times content from 1995 to present.
Academic Search Premier
(EBSCO) - a multi-disciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Opposing ViewPoints in Context
A one-stop source for information on current social issues. Includes viewpoint articles on both sides of an issue, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full text magazine and newspaper articles.
Video: What are Databases and Why do you Need Them?
Databases: Nursing and Health
Databases dealing with Nursing and Health topics.
Bates Visual Guide
Bates Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course. The site features more than 8 hours of video content.
Cinahl w/ Full Text
Full text for nursing and allied health journals, providing full text for more than 520 journals.
Health & Wellness Resource Center with Alternative Health Module
Provides access to medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos from partner Healthology, Inc., and articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Gale reference titles.
Health Reference Center Academic
Contains full text from nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources.
Full text databases with unbiased, referenced information on drugs, toxicology, diseases and alternative medicines. Includes CareNotes System, which contains patient information, in English and Spanish, for all aspects of care, medications, and health.
Nursing and Allied Health Collection (Gale)
Offers researchers looking for answers to nursing or allied health questions millions of articles found in over 1,100 journals. Provides full-text coverage of many of the titles cited in CINAHL.
Nursing Made Incredibly Easy
A well-respected publication that presents complex nursing issues in easy to understand language. Only one user per session allowed per licensing rules.
Nursing Resource Center
Designed for nursing students, the Nursing Resource Center brings together in an easy-to-use interface disease and drug overviews, care plans, relevant journal results and animated anatomy and physiology diagrams to complement the core encyclopedia texts.
AHRQ Evidence Reports
EPC Reports offer comprehensive, science-based information on common costly medical conditions and new health care technologies and strategies. Your search results cover complete titles of released evidence reports, comparative effectiveness reviews, technical briefs, Technology Assessment Program reports, and U.S. Preventive Services Task Force evidence syntheses.
AHRQ Guidelines Clearing House
AHRQ's National Guideline Clearinghouse is a public resource for summaries of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.
The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) is the leading resource for systematic reviews in health care. The CDSR includes Cochrane Reviews (the systematic reviews) and protocols for Cochrane Reviews as well as editorials.
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).