LibGuides: Biology: Find Articles

Databases to Get You Started

Most academic research requires you to use published articles. While these types of articles can be found using Google, it is often easier to find them using a library database. The following databases contain articles on a wide variety of subjects and are great places to start.

Academic OneFile
Academic OneFile is a starting point for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Covering the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, it contains millions of articles available in full- text. Includes full-text New York Times content from 1995 to present.
Academic Search Premier
(EBSCO) - a multi-disciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Opposing ViewPoints in Context
A one-stop source for information on current social issues. Includes viewpoint articles on both sides of an issue, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full text magazine and newspaper articles.

Articles and Databases
A complete list of all the library's databases.

Video: What are Databases and Why do you Need Them?

Databases: Biology

Agriculture Collection
With a strong emphasis on titles covered in the Agricola database, this collection of more than 400 titles is focused on agriculture and its related fields: from farming to scientific research in horticulture.
Environmental Studies and Policy Collection
Answers environmentally-related inquiries with coverage of more than 3.3 million articles from more than 700 journals and reference content from Delmar, Cengage Learning. Robust coverage of environmental issues and policies, including diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests.
General Science Collection
A collection of over 200 journals, providing researchers with the information needed to stay current on the latest scientific developments -- including such topics as particle physics, advanced mathematics, and nanotechnology.
GREENR
Videos, interactive maps, news sources, refereed case studies, and primary source articles are included. Browseable by issue or topic as well as by location.
Public Library of Science (PLOS)
PLOS (Public Library of Science) is a nonprofit publisher and advocacy organization founded to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication.
PubMed Central (PMC)
PubMed Central (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).